Peter Winston

Post 2

It might say 2024-08-29, but I'm typing this just after midnight.

I just hit my head terribly, while standing up after giving my dog some food. I hit my head on the point of the shell above me, and it started bleeding a bit. It's not particularly bad, the bleeding stopped after a few minutes of applying pressure, but it still hurts intensely. And my dog didn't even take a bite of the food! What a waste of blood.

Quite a good day otherwise, woke up earlier than usual, at nine o'clock. After doing some chores and of course walking my dog, I went about looking for a job as a waiter in a nearby restaurant. This was a fourth attempt, and finally a successful one. The manager was desperate -- perhaps it's too strong a word -- to find someone, so even though I have no experience he decided to hire me on the spot. It's not a particularly difficult job, but you need to mind the details; dot the is and cross the ts. I don't mind working eight hours, because I used to volunteer for even longer times a day, and this is a rather simple job.

I defrosted some bacon which had been in the freezer for more than three years certainly, and perhaps as long as five. Obviously when something is frozen it's practically impossible to go bad so much that it's inedible, indeed the bacon was alright. But only that, alright. Aside from being very fat rich, the taste of bacon was practically nonexistent. A similar thing will happen to beer -- not when frozen, but left in a cupboard for a long time after it's best before date -- in case anyone reading this wonders; you can drink it and not poison yourself, but you shouldn't, it's tasteless and not carbonated anymore.