Peter Winston

I spent some time browsing the discovery feed here on bearblog and was surprised just how many people blog about "should you do this blog challenge", "what's an authentic blog post", and other nonsense such as.

Writing this page I am myself guilty of the same blogging about blogging ridiculousness, but I felt compelled to put it on a page regardless.

People are making a science out of typing pages on a website, putting your thoughts (or something else) out for someone to read (or not). Just do it, for Christ's sake, why would you need this or that challenge, or guideline, you're not writing a book. Write as you like, you are free, there's no teacher to give you bad grades, or a publishing company turning down your book. (Still, Herman might decide to slay your blog if you post something particularly nasty, but that's on you, Herman seems like a pretty rational fellow, and not like some kind of bully website owner.)

The worst challenges are probably the "one post a day for a whole month", or something along those lines. It's in direct contradiction to writing quality posts, because no ones days and thoughts are so interesting that they need a whole page every single day.

My day so far has consisted of smoking, drinking coffee, walking my dog, catching The Aviator film on the television, running out of cigarettes (perhaps the most dramatic part of my day, any smoker can relate), and that's about it. I don't expect something much more interesting will happen by the rest of the day, and that's normal, that's part of the human experience.

I do write about boring stuff like above in my "blog" page, but I use that as an online diary without the intent of someone reading it. Considering what I wrote in the previous sentence it would make sense to turn the "online diary" into an offline one, which I'll probably do at some point.

In any case, I'm glad this is a minority -- about a quarter of the pages I see -- of posts on the discovery feed. There are genuinely interesting pages to read, many of them.

Not to mention the foreign language pages; just switch the language of the discovery feed to something else. In the pile of all the AI crap there are genuinely useful tools such as translation ones, deepl translate comes to mind, pretty good, so use that to read those pages. I particularly liked that Russian psychologists page about why people are lazy, here it is:

Why are we lazy?

P.S. I know the above might be a difficult read, the style of writing (and speaking) is a consequence of a disease I have. I too dislike it, and try to work against it so to speak, but it is quite difficult. My bad, and it is what it is.

Edit: originally written on august 30th, I keep seeing this type of posts on the discovery feed. It's kind of ridiculous, but whatever. I just hope people get tired of it eventually. Am I part of the same hypocrisy by posting this page? Maybe, probably. I'm not sure.